It started with a whisper.

Image

This past Monday, the eve of my 21st Birthday, Neon Trees played Manchester’s Academy 3. I was offered the opportunity to go along and shoot the event for Second Fleet Magazine and, of course, I couldn’t turn down the opportunity. I have been a fan of Neon Trees for a couple of years now and though I managed to catch them on their previous UK tour last year, this was the first chance I’d gotten to shoot them live.

Image

I attended along with my good friend Lisa, who has been my go-to gig buddy in Manchester for a few years now. Of course, I think she was possibly swayed by the prospect of also celebrating my Birthday with me, as I didn’t have much planned for the actual day of. Neon Trees seemed the perfect way to enjoy my Birthday whilst a quite a few miles from home. And they surely didn’t disappoint.

neontrees34Though there was no barrier at all, I was forced to shoot from the crowd not that I minded at all. The lighting in Academy 3 is always quite wonderful and I coped well with what I had regardless. It helped of course that one of the big highlights of the set was their rendition of ‘Don’t You Want Me Baby’. Always a classic, always a favourite of mine and it was a pleasant surprise thrown into an already wonderful set. I would happily do it all again.

SECOND FLEET / FLICKR / TWITTER / FACEBOOK

Leave a Reply

