Come fly with me.

nyc73

 

My absence lately has been due to my inability to post. For a number of reasons, most of them culminating over the fact I had forgotten my log in info for the longest time. However, there is another reason and that is for the last couple of months I have been so busy that it seemingly slipped my mind to update on things. Since Neon Trees I have shot my first festival via Slam Dunk, moved back home for the summer and away from University, seen One Direction play in a sweaty hot Wembley Stadium and also taken a second trip out to the United States. Let me update you on the latter.

June 30th marked my departure from my home of Newcastle, United Kingdom. My flight was long and while I hit some awful turbulence along the way – it was all worth it to be with my Girlfriend on the other side. Sam and I have been together for a year and we were about to spend a whole month together after not seeing one another for 7 months. She lives in Boston, where I was flying to and I couldn’t have been more excited.  We hit a few small places the first week as she was working and the second week things really kicked off. Starting with Provincetown and Water Wizz. The second of which was featured in the first Grown Ups movie and I was pretty excited to see it.

bc24

 

I was then able to cover my second festival of the year through Warped Tour. I was allocated a photo pass via the ticket exchange program and had the most incredible time. Warped Tour was one of those festivals on my bucket list to cover – I attended my first two years ago and loved it and I never expected that this year I’d be able to cover it. I got incredibly lucky in not only being able to cover one date but two. The above photo is from the first date in Mansfield, but just a few days later we were taking the two hour drive to CT for the next Warped date.

 

maydayparade19

 

This show got me my first jump shot. I hadn’t even known that I’d gotten it until looking through photos long after the show had finished and I was thrilled. The day was the best out of the two, I saw more bands and got to shoot a couple that I hadn’t had the chance to in Mansfield. A highlight was being able to hang out with Issues again, always a pleasure. They’re a group of guys that I’ve made good friends with in the amount of times that I’ve caught them over the past year. And they put on a damn good show once again.

nyc9

 

Last but not least was our three day trip to New York City. Growing up it was the one city I really wanted to visit, perhaps everyone wants to visit it at least once in their lives. It’s a bustling city with bright lights and so much to offer. I was in awe from start to finish. I managed to compile a good amount of photos from the trip whilst having the time of my life being in one of my favourite places with my favourite person in the world. The only thing that could have made it any better was if the first day went off without a hitch. We did hit a little bump when our initial hotel was a dive, though we were out of it within an hour and feeling so much better in a new place.

All photos from the trip are up at my Flickr now.

 

 

Leave a Reply

