Musings of a Second Year – 01.

Last year I took the leap to go to university – this followed losing my grandfather who I looked after for quite some time. I was sad to lose him, of course, but the only thing that gave me motivation was him telling me to go and do all of the things he couldn’t do. University was one of those.

I’m now starting my second year of uni and, in starting my second year, I looked back on the first year and considered all of the experiences I had to pick out what I enjoyed the most.

Honestly, over the plethora of people I’ve had the chance to meet, over the experience of being completely independent for the first time – without having others depend on me either – the thing I most enjoyed was watching myself grow and change over the year.

Since coming to university I’ve watched how I’ve transformed from a timid girl, anxious about almost everything, to someone confident and determined that I’m now doing things I never would have done before.

I’m throwing myself into my journalistic work, in and out of university, thriving in Radio – which at the start of the year terrified me – and I have an entirely more positive view on everything. Something I might not have had without university.

All in all I’m glad I took my granddad’s words to heart, I’ve had the chance to discover who I really am and have never been more certain about what I want to do. I owe him so much for that.

Leave a Reply

